Qigong (pronounced Chi Gung) is the ancient Chinese art of breathing and movement. The movements are smooth, slow and gentle on the body and are relaxing and calming for the mind. 


The Qigong sequences we practise include the Five Doaist exercises, the Five Animals (Wu Qin Xi) (tiger, deer, bear, monkey and crane), the Eight Pieces of Brocade (Ba Duan Jin), the Tendon and Muscle Strengthening exercise (Yi Jin Jing) and a sequence of eight exercises called "Wa Du", meaning Great Dance. All these exercises are about 2000 years old, except for Wa Du, which is 5000 years old.


You can watch the full Five Animals Qigong sequence on Ninja Granny's Youtube channel here

We also practise a more modern stretching exercise taught by Rose Oliver from the Double Dragon Alliance, which is excellent for strengthening the legs and hips, called Shen Jin Ba Gu, meaning "stretch the ligaments and open the joints". It is extremely good for your hips!


Like Tai chi, Qigong is soft and yet strengthening, energising and yet relaxing. The main difference is that Qigong has no martial element whereas all the movements in Tai chi have martial applications. Both are especially beautiful to do outside.


All the Qigong exercises can be adaped for sitting so people with limited mobility are welcome. Qigong classes are on Mondays 12.30-1.30pm at Dobwalls Memorial Hall: Wednesdays 10-11am at the Liskerrett Centre, Liskeard and on Thursdays 12.15 - 1.15pm at Space to Move




The Crane from Five Animals

Port Eliot Festival 2016

"Shen jin ba gu" on Lundy Island


Kath Revell



07729 907056

fb ninja granny

Member of Tai chi Union for Great Britain

Member of Chinese Internal Arts Assocation

This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now